The desire to protect a beloved 1913 former Moose Lodge translated into this adaptive reuse of the 8,800-square-foot brick structure, part of the town’s A. Oscar Martin-designed streetscape. The project yielded two luxury flats featuring a bevy of modern touches but each with its own sense and sensibilities.
If visitors entering the first floor condo missed the significance of a massive verdigris moose head looking west out of the upper façade of the two-story brick edifice, they’d have another chance to puzzle it out in the flat’s study. There, the original fireplace still sports a pair of moose-shaped tiles that were created by Henry Mercer’s Moravian Pottery & Tile Works for the men’s club more than 100 years ago.
The beautifully tiled fireplace with its heavy mantle is flanked by two casement windows in this street-side room. At the other end of the 4000+sf condo is the living room with a second original fireplace set into a wall of red brick.
Nearly all windows in the condo were replaced with new energy-efficient versions of the original iron casements. Inside, the abundant windows pull in natural light. Outside, the black casements work with the dark red brick and white faux sandstone trim to recreate the precision angles and straight lines sported by this iconic borough landmark on opening day in 1913.
Not counting the exterior and the unique fireplaces, once visitors step through the front door under the arched transom window with “127” edged in fire-red oblongs, all traces of 1913 have given way to a finely crafted, sophisticated living space that makes the most of its historic “bones” and truly exceptional materials, construction and interior design.
Architect/Designer: Phillips & Associates Architects
Location: Doylestown, PA
Services: Adaptive reuse of landmark structure into two luxury flats
Completion Date: April 2017